Marianne Weems & my stolen computer

Marianne Weems, artistic director of The Builders Association, just spent a couple of days with us.  She’s working on a project with Shannon and it was great to have her. I (Michael) unexpectedly got to visit with her because my trip to Amsterdam was canceled when my computer bag, containing computer & passport, was stolen. More on her visit in another blog post, but I can’t resist sharing the following text message exchange between the two of us.

The exchange occurred on her way here. Bad weather had her stuck in Washington DC and we weren’t even sure she would get here. She was supposed to land in Brussels and then take the train to Paris. With all the lost time, though, she decided to try to fly from London to Paris. The only problem was getting her bag…hopefully it wouldn’t be checked through to Brussels.  In any case, she started texting me with updates (Marianne is in blue):

Sunday, Jan 18 2009 at 7:08:46 AM
Hi Michael it’s Marianne, hope I’m not texting too early. I am STILL in wash dc. Hoping to get to London by 2 pm and then i might try to jump ship amd fly straight to paris but the problem is that my luggage is going to Brussels. Madness. Will report from UK. Thnx, m


Sunday, Jan 18 2009 at 7:37:42 AM
So sorry! Just let us know how things progress…and good luck.

Sunday, Jan 18 2009 at 4:38:39 PM
Any luck?

Sunday, Jan 18 2009 at 4:44:20 PM
I’m at heathrow. Just bought a pricey ticket to Paris but there is no sign of my bag. The earliest I would get there would be 8 30 tonight but only if I find my bag and make the plane. Ugh.

Sunday, Jan 18 2009 at 4:47:24 PM
Yikes. I’m about to leave for Amsterdam, so I’ll see you in liege. You can reach Shannon at +33 (0)6 07 12 13 26.

Sunday, Jan 18 2009 at 4:50:10 PM
Ok but can she text?

Sunday, Jan 18 2009 at 4:52:57 PM
Probably can, but you can also phone if you don’t get a reply. Or text me & I’ll call her.

Sunday, Jan 18 2009 at 4:54:08 PM
Thanks. Hope your trip goes my smoothly than mine. Don’t let anyone touch your bag!

Sunday, Jan 18 2009 at 4:54:49 PM
Taking the train;-)

Sunday, Jan 18 2009 at 4:55:25 PM
Very wise

Sunday, Jan 18 2009 at 7:28:01 PM
Disaster, actually. Bag with computer & passport stolen! Should have taken your advice…

How, I wonder, did she know to type “Don’t let anyone touch your bag!”?

Leave a Reply

